2A Football Classification moves to four conferences

The Arkansas Activities Association has released the football classifications and conferences for the 2022-24 Cycle. Mount Ida moves into familiar territory as the shrinking 2A Classification moves to a four conference set up. Neighboring Centerpoint gets out from under the shadow of Prescott in the 3A Classification.

The 2A Classification will consist of three seven team conferences and one eight team conference for a total of 29 schools.

Mount Ida will compete in the 2A-3 Conference which will look eerily similar to the old 2A-7 Conference.

Joining Mount Ida will be Dierks, Foreman, Lafayette County, Mineral Springs, Murfreesboro and Poyen.

The 2A-1 Conference will consist of Bigelow, Conway Christian, Decatur, Hector, Westside-Johnson County, Magazine and Mountainburg.

The 2A-2 Conference will include Clarendon, Cross County, Des Arc, Earle, East Poinsett County, Lee County, Marked Tree and McCrory.

The 2A-4 Conference will consist of Baptist Prep, Bearden, Carlisle, Episcopal Collegiate, England, Hampton and Hazen.

No indication as to how the playoffs will look with a four conference set up. Under the current system of taking the Top Five from each conference would mean a 20 team playoff.

In the 3A Classification Centerpoint will compete in the 3A-4 Conference. They will be joined by Bismarck, Danville, Glen Rose, Jessieville, Magnet Cove, Paris and Two Rivers.

A full list of classifications and conferences will be posted at a later date.

Read More