Montgomery County News, Arkansas -

Macejewski wins Magazine Invitational, Hernandez earns Top Five finish for Indians


MAGAZINE – Peyton Macejewski claimed her first victory of the cross country season last Tuesday at Magazine with time of 9:26 in the 2400 meter run.

Peyton Macejewski crosses the finish line to win the Magazine Invitational last Tuesday. She won the Senior Girls’ 2400m run. – Photo courtesy of Courtney Macejewski

Peyton came in just under nine and a half minutes, 14 seconds better than Maria Grano of Waldron who ran the course in 9:40. Darby Jones of Mansfield finished third with a time of 9:42, followed by Lexi Franklin of Booneville with a time of 10:09 and Mariam Garcia of Acorn with a time of 10:31.

Skylin Gliger of Caddo Hills also competed in the Magazine Invitational, finishing in 22nd place with a time of 12:52.

Hannah Hanson won the junior high race with a time of 9:43, followed by Legan Crusinbury with a time of 9:43.03, MJ Johnson with a time of 9:44, Landrie McClain with a time of 10:17 and Ariel Lemme with a time of 10:22.

Katelynn Foster was the top Junior Lady Indian in the junior girls division. She finished in 25th place with a time of 12:10. Noemi Morales finished in 84th place with a time of 15:56.

Randy Rodriquez won the junior boys race with a time of 8:03, followed by Caden Tarkington of Acorn (8:20), Rodrigo Garcia of De Queen (8:21), Josiah Fildes of Mansfield (8:58) and Luke Mbekengya of Lincoln (8:59)

Cole Naney was the top Junior Indian with a time of 9:38. He finished in 13th place.

Bender Meeks finished in 34th place (10:14.14), Colton Francis finished in 40th place (10:30.30), Ted Cogburn finished in 53rd place (11:08), Brodi Sigfrid finished in 62nd place (11:37), Hunter Sliger finished in 65th place (11:45), Jake Wray finished in 68th place (11:48), and Aiden Sutton finished in 101st place (16:03).

Christian Hernandez of Caddo Hills finished in fourth place in the senior boys 2400m run with a time of 8:35.

The race was won by Justice Newfeld of Acorn with a time of 7:41. CJ Johnson of Boonville finished second with a time of 8:33, followed by Issac Tedder of Acorn with a time of 8:28. Sky Carmack of Acorn finished in fifth place with a time of 8:39.

Other Indian runners include Lane Naney who finished in 13th place (9:22), Tony Ruiz who finished in 16th place (9:31) and Daniel Cruz who finished in 33rd place (11:22).

Read More